2017 NOBA Judges

Pat Dubreuil

Pat Dubreuil, MBA

NOBA Entrepreneur of the year 2016, currently involved in several businesses

  • President of Manitou Gold, a junior mining company currently developing the Kenwest property near Dryden Ontario. Working towards a bulk sample starting late fall of 2017. TSX-V: MTU
  • President of Ctrl2Market, a joint venture with Missanabie Cree First Nation, currently offering accommodations and catering services to Richmont Mines Island Gold project in Dubreuilville.
  • President of Magpie Relay Motel & Resort, currently servicing the PowerSports Industry where snowmobile, motorcycle and ATV enthusiasts enjoy a good night’s rest, a hot tub, sauna or just hang out in the “ManCave” to shoot some pool and enjoy like minded individuals.
  • President of Let’s Roll “Ideation” Consulting, offers business development, project management and insights for mining, tourism and general best practices business operations.
  • Holds an Honors BA in Psychology and a Masters in Business Administration (MBA). Pat is married with 2 children and actively involved as a director/board member of Nickel Basin Federal Development Corporation, Governor with Ontario Federation of Snowmobile Clubs, the Algoma Kiniwabi Travel Association, the Dubreuilville Economic Development Committee and the Dubreuilville Alouettes snowmobile club.  

Tom Laughren

Tom Laughren, Director of Corporate Responsibility
Lake Shore Gold

Tom Laughren Joined Lake Shore Gold as Director of Corporate Responsibility September 2014 bringing over 30 years of experience in a variety of fields. Tom’s responsibilities with Lake Shore Gold include representation with legislation and regulatory affairs to elected officials and liaisons with government committees and other agencies. Tom is responsible to interface with Timmins and associated First Nation communities as well as assist with operations and management as it relates to occupational health and safety and environmental performance. Prior to joining Lake Shore Gold Tom served as Mayor for the City of Timmins from November 2006 - November 2014 when he decided to return to the mining industry with Lake Shore Gold. Prior to his tenure as mayor he worked for Gorf Contracting from July 1980 - November 2006 as Manager Heavy Equipment and Quality assurance (IS0 9001), TSSA certification and purchasing.

Tom C. Palangio

Tom C. Palangio

Tom is a businessman, consultant and explosive application engineer. He is also president and owner of WipWare Incorporated Photoanalysis Systems in North Bay.

Tom's career spans more than 43 years in the explosives industry starting with DuPont Canada Explosives Products Division in 1974, joining Explosives Technologies International in 1988, and forming Topex explosives consulting and WipWare in 1995.

Tom has published over 86 papers and presented lectures and workshops at various conferences and universities. Tom is active in the community and chaired the Blue Sky mining cluster in North Bay, served on the Ontario Mining Industry Cluster Council. Was a Director at the North Bay and District Chamber of Commerce and is a past chair of the Northern Gateway branch of the CIM. He is currently president and a director for SAMSSA and chair of the NORCAT board of directors in Sudbury. Tom has won various awards and recognition including: the NOB, Entrepreneur of the Year Award in 2003 and received the Northern Ontario Business Award for Innovation in 2015, among many others.

Paul Reid

Paul Reid

Paul Reid is a business development officer with the City of Greater Sudbury. His community involvement includes being the past-president of the Sudbury and District Chamber of Commerce (1979-1981). He was also the chair of the Laurentian Hospital Foundation (1992-1993). He is currently the chair of the Nickel Basin Development Corporation.

Union Gas Essay Scholarship Judge

Vicki Gilhula

Vicki Gilhula

Vicki Gilhula is the associate publisher and editor for Sudbury Living Magazine. Previously she was editor of Northern Life. A graduate of Ryerson University, she is the founding president of the Sudbury Writers’ Guild.